Yoga in the 1st Trimester

I found out I was pregnant at 5 weeks and right away I thought, “I better go over all the pre-natal yoga stuff with Monika!”

yoga-in-the-1st-trimester

Basically at the beginning you can still pretty much everything but here is what you should change and keep in mind:

  • Cut out the deep twists. Open arm twist are fine… as long as your hips stay facing forward.
  • Take it easier on the core work. Try to do things besides belly up core like hip lifts, holds, opposite arm/leg crunches in table top etc.
  • Say goodbye to Hot Yoga for a while. I still practiced in about 95 degrees, but 95 isn’t 105. Switch to open mouth exhales so you don’t build up any more heat and find a spot by a door or window where you know it’s not so hot.
  • Talk to your Dr. or Midwife. Make sure that before you start trying to be the master of pre-natal yoga, you talk to your healthcare provider about what he/she recommends for you. Everyone is different.

The thing about the first trimester in yoga, is there might be a time when suddenly… WHAMY! You feel like such a pile of horse shit, that going to yoga sounds like the last thing in the world you want to do.

woman-506120_960_720

Every pregnancy is different. For me, I went to yoga about 2-3x a week until about week 8… then it went to 0. I was super exhausted, many times I was throwing up a couple times a day, and I was slammed with work. So rest and getting my work done took priority.

Sometimes I tried to muster up the energy to do, but I just felt so crappy. Plus, the last thing I wanted to do was barf in class!

So moral of the story, give yourself a break in yoga for that 1st trimester. If your like me, you wanted to be the pregnant yogi master… but that aspiration might disappear in a flash. And it’s OK! Do what your heart says is the right thing when your building a human… it’s hard work gurl!!!

Want to get started using Essential Oils for yourself and save 24% every time you order? CLICK HERE to check out the Young Living Essential Oils Starter Kit and our FREE guide “6 Ways to Start Using Essential Oils”! We’ll be in touch within 24 hours… or if you want your Starter Kit right now, CLICK HERE

Leave a Reply

