DIY Yoga Mat Spray

DIY yoga mat spray

Yoga Teacher: “Hi! My name is Anne and I will be guiding you through your 60 min yoga practice today! Welcome to your mat, we will start in Childs Pose”

You: “Crap…I would really rather not put my nose on my disgusting smelling yoga mat..maybe I will start in savasana instead…”

Whether you practice yoga once a week or 5 times a week your yoga mat normally does not smell like roses each time you come back to it. I personally use a sticky yoga mat there are not many solutions to washing this mat so I have opted to just use water, but this does nothing for the smell and is most likely not getting any of the bacteria off of my mat. I decided to dig into my essential oils to see what might be a great fit for a yoga mat cleaning solution.

DIY Yoga Mat Spray: 

2oz Spray Bottle
2-3 Drops Tea Tree
2-3 Drops Lavender
2 tablespoons of witch hazel
Fill w/ Distilled water

This has been working great! The musty smell is hardly there anymore, both tea tree and lavender oils have anti-fungal and anti-bacterial properties. Lavender makes it smell much better and Tea Tree adds to a fresh clean feeling.

IMG_4463

WARNING: If you also use a sticky mat I would suggest not using this solution each and every time; the oils might break down the sticky properties of the mat, which might make the mat slippery after time.

_

Want to get started using Essential Oils for yourself and save 24% every time you order? CLICK HERE to check out the Young Living Essential Oils Starter Kit and our FREE guide “6 Ways to Start Using Essential Oils”! We’ll be in touch within 24 hours… or if you want your Starter Kit right now, CLICK HERE  ❤ Erika & Monika

 

Leave a Reply

